Stranger than strange contacts!

confused-man1

On Social Media, do you ever find a new Follower, or clock a new Contact and think: “Why on Earth have they chosen to link up with me?!”

Whether it’s a balloon-bender from Bolton, or a butler-in-the-buff from Brighton, there are times when the folk who want to be “part of my gang” make no sense whatsoever! To be fair, when I started out on Social Media, I probably did the same. I hadn’t a clue what I was doing and assumed that the more “Likes” or “Friends” I had, the more popular I’d appear and the more the phone would ring, or my email would ping with offers of work. Wrong!

Over the last couple of days, I’ve reflected on how I use Social Media and who I’d like to be in my troop. For a training and consultancy service such as mine, Linkedin has reaped rewards in terms of hooking-up with long-lost colleagues, showcasing what I do and bringing in business. I’ve happily sought out other professionals with a vested interest in careers guidance and working with children, young people and adults in the hope they’ll be just a wee bit interested in what I post.

My question is – what do you “do” with your list of contacts? Do they just sit there looking lovely, or, do you actively engage with them, promote and market what you do? Do they respond to that? I often worry it feels a bit like “cold emailing” and that gets up people’s noses.

I run a Linkedin Group for professionals in the Career Guidance sector. It’s very rare I shout from the rooftops what I do. I’ve seen other forums become choc-a-block full of self-promoting posts and I wouldn’t want that. However, of late, I HAVE promoted an exclusive qualification discount for staff who are members. Even THEN I felt a bit cheeky!

Am I just being overly sensitive? Some online gurus would say: “Well, these people CHOSE to be one of your contacts and it IS “social media”, therefore, they need to be sociable!”

Your thoughts  please?

Ade.

Leave a Reply

